QuorumCivic. Hidden in plain sight Get the app
Bill intelligence

USDA opens affordable capital pipeline for beginning farmers

S. 2797 — Capital for Beginning Farmers and Ranchers Act of 2025 · Filed by Peter Welch (D-VT) · Introduced Sep 15, 2025 · Referred to committee

85%
Transparency
Typical bill: 85%
8/100
Hidden-provision risk
Typical bill: 15/100
Agricultural Credit Access Expansion

Your members of Congress

Enter a ZIP to see where your representative and both senators stood on this bill.

Looked up on this device — your ZIP is never stored on our servers.

What it does

This bill creates a pilot program allowing the U.S. Department of Agriculture to make or guarantee loans up to $100,000 to beginning farmers and ranchers for long-term capital investments (equipment, land improvements, breeding stock, business infrastructure) at interest rates between 0–3%, with repayment terms of 3–10 years. Currently, USDA treats these multi-year investments as annual operating loans, forcing new farmers to refinance constantly and limiting their ability to build working capital; this program separates development spending from operating loans, giving beginning farmers better terms and longer repayment windows to invest in their operations.

Why we flagged it

The bill's core mechanism is expanding USDA lending authority to a specific borrower class (beginning farmers) for a specific purpose (development capital) with favorable terms. It is a targeted credit-access program, not a subsidy or carve-out—the loans carry interest and require repayment, though at below-market rates.

What the text implies

  • The bill does not appropriate funds; it authorizes USDA to make loans from existing or future appropriations. Actual program scale depends on congressional funding decisions not specified here.
  • Loans are capped at $100,000 per borrower, but the bill does not limit total program volume or aggregate exposure, creating potential for large contingent liabilities if default rates exceed projections.
  • The 0–3% interest-rate range is below market rates for beginning farmers (typically 5–8% for unsecured ag credit); the subsidy is implicit in the rate, not explicit in the text.
  • Collateral requirements may be waived based on borrower experience, creating moral-hazard risk if inexperienced borrowers receive unsecured loans; the bill does not specify underwriting standards.
  • Training is mandatory but delivered through third-party contractors; quality and consistency depend on USDA's contract management and the capacity of partner organizations.

Section numbers refer to the bill text the analysis read — linked under Primary records below.

Who it affects

Beginning farmers and ranchers—a group with historically high failure rates and limited access to capital—gain access to affordable, appropriately-structured financing for essential long-term investments. The program addresses a documented market failure (annual operating loans mismatched to multi-year capital needs) and includes mandatory training support, reducing risk and improving outcomes for this economically vulnerable population.

Who stands to gain

  • beginning farmers and ranchers (primary beneficiaries of below-market-rate loans)
  • agricultural training organizations and nonprofits (contracted to deliver mandatory training)

Named in the bill

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, House Committee on Agriculture, Food, Agriculture, Conservation, and Trade Act of 1990, Federal Crop Insurance Act

Where it stands

  • Sep 15, 2025 — Introduced · Congress.gov: “Introduced in Senate”
  • Sep 15, 2025 — Referred to Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry · Congress.gov: “Read twice and referred to the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry”

Dates and quoted wording are Congress.gov's action record; the timeline shows status changes, not every procedural step.

How this was measured

Analysis — Quorum's AI read the bill text published by Congress.gov (5,717 characters) on Sep 7, 2026. Section numbers in the findings refer to that text, linked below; transparency and hidden-provision scores are compared against the median of 16,398 analysed bills.

Status and sponsors — Congress.gov's bill record — actions, committee referrals and cosponsors — loaded nightly. The timeline shows status changes, not every procedural action.

As of — page rendered 2026-10-23.

“USDA opens affordable capital pipeline for beginning farmers” QuorumCivic. https://share.quorumcivic.app/bill/119/s2797 Report an error

Correlative observation from public records — not evidence of coordination or wrongdoing, and not financial advice.
This page is the record as of today. The app tells you when it changes.
Quorum analysis of the full bill text · 119th Congress · public record

The week in bills

One email, Sunday: what Congress passed, what it changed, and who paid.

One link arrives to confirm the address. It is used for this email and nothing else, and every issue carries an unsubscribe link.