Congress caps WIC juice allowances—but won't say if it's a cut
H.R. 9305 — Juice for Healthy Families Act of 2026 · Filed by Glenn Thompson (R-PA) · 5 cosponsors · Introduced Jun 11, 2026 · Referred to committee
Your members of Congress
Enter a ZIP to see where your representative and both senators stood on this bill.
Looked up on this device — your ZIP is never stored on our servers.
What it does
This bill amends the WIC (Women, Infants, and Children) nutrition program to cap juice allowances at 128 fluid ounces per month for four specific food packages (IV through VII) that serve older children and pregnant/postpartum women. The bill does not state whether this is a new cap or a reduction from current allowances; that depends on existing WIC regulations.
Why we flagged it
The bill's sole operative mechanism is to set a maximum monthly juice allowance under the WIC program. It is a straightforward regulatory limit on a specific food category within an existing federal nutrition program.
What the text implies
- The bill does not specify whether 128 fl oz is a new cap, a reduction, or a codification of existing practice; the civic effect (benefit or burden to WIC participants) depends entirely on current regulatory allowances, which are not stated in the bill itself.
- The bill applies only to Food Packages IV–VII, which serve older children and pregnant/postpartum women; it does not address juice allowances for infants or younger children in other food packages, creating potential inconsistency in WIC nutrition guidance.
- No rationale is provided for the 128 fl oz figure; it is unclear whether this reflects public health guidance (e.g., sugar content limits), cost control, or other policy objectives.
Section numbers refer to the bill text the analysis read — linked under Primary records below.
Who it affects
WIC participants in Food Packages IV–VII (older children, pregnant/postpartum women) face a potential reduction in juice allowances if current practice exceeds 128 fl oz/month, which could reduce access to a nutrient source; however, the bill may also codify a reasonable limit if current allowances are excessive or if the cap prevents waste. Without knowing the baseline, the net public health effect is unclear.
Named in the bill
WIC (Women, Infants, and Children program), Child Nutrition Act of 1966, Food Package IV, Food Package V, Food Package VI, Food Package VII, 7 CFR 246.10(e)
Where it stands
5 cosponsors: 3 Republicans, 2 Democrats.
- Jun 11, 2026 — Introduced · Congress.gov: “Introduced in House”
- Jun 11, 2026 — Referred to House Committee on Education and Workforce · Congress.gov: “Referred to the House Committee on Education and Workforce”
Dates and quoted wording are Congress.gov's action record; the timeline shows status changes, not every procedural step.
How this was measured
Analysis — Quorum's AI read the bill text published by Congress.gov (601 characters) on Aug 29, 2026. Section numbers in the findings refer to that text, linked below; transparency and hidden-provision scores are compared against the median of 16,222 analysed bills.
Status and sponsors — Congress.gov's bill record — actions, committee referrals and cosponsors — loaded nightly. The timeline shows status changes, not every procedural action.
As of — page rendered 2026-10-20.
“Congress caps WIC juice allowances—but won't say if it's a cut” QuorumCivic. https://share.quorumcivic.app/bill/119/hr9305 Report an error
The week in bills
One email, Sunday: what Congress passed, what it changed, and who paid.
One link arrives to confirm the address. It is used for this email and nothing else, and every issue carries an unsubscribe link.