Congress expands food stamps to farmers' markets, fresh local food
H.R. 6776 — Farmers to Families Act · Filed by Lauren Underwood (D-IL) · 3 cosponsors · Introduced Dec 17, 2025 · Referred to committee
Your members of Congress
Enter a ZIP to see where your representative and both senators stood on this bill.
Looked up on this device — your ZIP is never stored on our servers.
What it does
This bill amends federal child nutrition programs (WIC and related food assistance) to allow participants to use their benefits at community-supported agriculture programs, farmers' markets, and directly from farmers to buy fresh, local, unprepared foods. It requires states to process these payments through a single electronic benefits card within 18 months, establishes a federal technical assistance center to help farmers and markets accept these benefits, and creates a streamlined application portal so farmers can easily become authorized vendors.
Why we flagged it
The bill's core mechanism is expanding the vendors and food types eligible for federal nutrition benefits, with supporting infrastructure (technical assistance, payment systems, application portals) to make that expansion work. It is a straightforward public-health and food-access measure.
What the text implies
- Automatic authorization of farmers as vendors (Section 3) may create compliance and fraud-prevention challenges if USDA lacks capacity to monitor thousands of new small vendors; the bill does not specify audit or enforcement mechanisms.
- The 18-month timeline for state implementation of single EBT device and qualified payment device regulations is aggressive; delays could leave benefits inaccessible at farmers' markets during the transition.
- Technical Assistance Center is funded through a competitive cooperative agreement, but the bill does not specify appropriations; if unfunded, the center may not materialize or may be underfunded relative to demand.
- The bill does not address whether farmers' market vendors must accept all nutrition programs (SNAP, WIC, SFMNP) or only some; state-by-state variation could create confusion and unequal access.
- Qualified payment device list (Section 18) is delegated to USDA rulemaking; if devices are expensive or proprietary, small farmers and markets may face barriers to participation despite the bill's intent to include them.
Section numbers refer to the bill text the analysis read — linked under Primary records below.
Who it affects
The bill expands where low-income families can spend nutrition benefits, directing money toward fresh local food and small farmers rather than processed goods, while reducing administrative friction for vendors. The primary beneficiaries are WIC participants (pregnant women, infants, children, and low-income families) who gain access to fresher, more nutritious food options and local economic activity.
Who stands to gain
- small and mid-sized farms
- farmers' markets
- community-supported agriculture programs
- payment device manufacturers (qualified EBT processors)
- nonprofit organizations and institutions of higher education selected to operate the Technical Assis
Named in the bill
USDA (Department of Agriculture), WIC (Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children), FMNP (Farmers' Market Nutrition Program), SFMNP (Senior Farmers' Market Nutrition Program), SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program), Child Nutrition Act of 1966, Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, State agencies (WIC administrators), Farmers' markets, Community-supported agriculture programs, Cooperative extension services
Where it stands
3 cosponsors: 2 Democrats, 1 Republicans.
- Dec 17, 2025 — Introduced · Congress.gov: “Introduced in House”
- Dec 17, 2025 — Referred to House Committee on Agriculture and House Committee on Education and Workforce · Congress.gov: “Referred to the Committee on Education and Workforce, and in addition to the Committee on Agriculture, for a…”
Dates and quoted wording are Congress.gov's action record; the timeline shows status changes, not every procedural step.
How this was measured
Analysis — Quorum's AI read the bill text published by Congress.gov (11,252 characters) on Aug 18, 2026. Section numbers in the findings refer to that text, linked below; transparency and hidden-provision scores are compared against the median of 16,222 analysed bills.
Status and sponsors — Congress.gov's bill record — actions, committee referrals and cosponsors — loaded nightly. The timeline shows status changes, not every procedural action.
As of — page rendered 2026-10-20.
“Congress expands food stamps to farmers' markets, fresh local food” QuorumCivic. https://share.quorumcivic.app/bill/119/hr6776 Report an error
The week in bills
One email, Sunday: what Congress passed, what it changed, and who paid.
One link arrives to confirm the address. It is used for this email and nothing else, and every issue carries an unsubscribe link.