QuorumCivic. Hidden in plain sight Get the app
Bill intelligence

Congress expands teacher loan forgiveness for English language educators

H.R. 6711 — SPELL Act · Filed by Adriano Espaillat (D-NY) · Introduced Dec 15, 2025 · Referred to committee

75%
Transparency
Typical bill: 85%
5/100
Hidden-provision risk
Typical bill: 15/100
Teacher Workforce Incentive

Your members of Congress

Enter a ZIP to see where your representative and both senators stood on this bill.

Looked up on this device — your ZIP is never stored on our servers.

What it does

This bill expands federal teacher loan forgiveness and cancellation programs to include teachers of English learners and bilingual/dual language immersion students, alongside existing coverage for math, science, and special education teachers. Teachers meeting certification and competency requirements can have portions of their federal student loans forgiven or cancelled, effective immediately upon enactment.

Why we flagged it

The bill's operative mechanism is a direct expansion of existing federal loan forgiveness/cancellation programs to a new category of educators. It is a targeted workforce-retention measure, not a regulatory change or appropriation.

What the text implies

  • Loan forgiveness reduces federal revenue (or increases subsidy cost) unless offset by appropriations; the bill does not specify funding source or cap total forgiveness amount.
  • Certification requirements are delegated to school chief administrative officers, creating potential inconsistency in eligibility determination across districts.
  • The bill does not specify whether teachers already in the workforce can retroactively claim forgiveness for prior service, creating ambiguity in implementation scope.

Section numbers refer to the bill text the analysis read — linked under Primary records below.

Who it affects

The bill directly reduces debt burden for a specific class of public-sector workers (teachers) addressing a documented workforce shortage in English language instruction. This is a targeted public investment in educator retention and recruitment with no apparent private capture or hidden cost to ordinary citizens.

Who stands to gain

  • Teachers with federal student loans (direct beneficiaries)
  • Public and nonprofit private schools (indirect benefit via improved teacher recruitment/retention)

Named in the bill

Department of Education, Higher Education Act of 1965, Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, Public and nonprofit private schools, Educational service agencies

Where it stands

  • Dec 15, 2025 — Introduced · Congress.gov: “Introduced in House”
  • Dec 15, 2025 — Referred to House Committee on Education and Workforce · Congress.gov: “Referred to the House Committee on Education and Workforce”

Dates and quoted wording are Congress.gov's action record; the timeline shows status changes, not every procedural step.

How this was measured

Analysis — Quorum's AI read the bill text published by Congress.gov (3,266 characters) on Aug 11, 2026. Section numbers in the findings refer to that text, linked below; transparency and hidden-provision scores are compared against the median of 16,222 analysed bills.

Status and sponsors — Congress.gov's bill record — actions, committee referrals and cosponsors — loaded nightly. The timeline shows status changes, not every procedural action.

As of — page rendered 2026-10-20.

“Congress expands teacher loan forgiveness for English language educators” QuorumCivic. https://share.quorumcivic.app/bill/119/hr6711 Report an error

Correlative observation from public records — not evidence of coordination or wrongdoing, and not financial advice.
This page is the record as of today. The app tells you when it changes.
Quorum analysis of the full bill text · 119th Congress · public record

The week in bills

One email, Sunday: what Congress passed, what it changed, and who paid.

One link arrives to confirm the address. It is used for this email and nothing else, and every issue carries an unsubscribe link.